C#, SharePoint

Cannot Send Email From My local test application (Blocked by McAfee)

My friend have this problem, he can’t send email from his local web application using SMTP connection, while other developers PC can.

When he tried to direct connect to port 25 of our SMTP server, it always fail. He tried using telnet to port 25, it also fail

I notice that McAfee suddenly put a red-border on the tray icon, so the action considered as malicious by McAfee.

And I found this on McAfee log file

1/11/2011 4:58:23 PM Blocked by port blocking rule C:\Windows\system32\telnet.exe Anti-virus Standard Protection:Prevent mass mailing worms from sending mail XXX.XX.XX.XX:25

So it’s clear that McAfee block the port, we need to add our test application to McAfee safe-list. right click on the McAfee tray icon, click on “Virus Scan Console… “. click on Access Protection icon.

Found the causing rule, I edit it to recognize my application

Since it’s a SharePoint based application.. let’s add w3wp.exe

Done! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cannot Send Email From My local test application (Blocked by McAfee)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.